1950s housewife challenge

I’ve decided to just start the 50s housewife challenge, hoping that it would help me get my house in order, and our life be less calm. I don’t feel like this is a super challenge for me, I’m a person that believes that women should stay home with the babies, and keep house. I question the “good” that womens liberation did for our country, families, children. Don’t get me wrong, if you want to work by all means go for it, but don’t blast my choice to stay home with my children and care for my family. Sometimes I really REALLY stink at it, and am at my wits end but gosh I wouldn’t trade it for all the money in the world. So lets get started by going over the good wifes guide, that may or may not be real but we’ll start from there. 

1) Have dinner ready.  This one is a little challenging for us since Mr Wally works evenings, so we eat our big meal of the day at lunch so there is no having dinner on the table when he walks in the door, but I will try my hardest to have it done and tabled before he starts to complain about hunger and wondering where dinner is. 🙂 

2) Prepare yourself, take 15 minutes to rest so you’ll be refreshed when he arrives. Again, kind of difficult when he works evenings and gets home at 130am, but I will start getting up and ready before he does in the morning, and up and ready no longer means throwing on a clean pair of sweats and an oversized tee. I’ll also try to wait to get showered and into pajamas until after he gets home. 

3) Be happy and interesting for him. This one will be one of the hardest for me, because I am a complainer, when he walks in I always have something to tell him that the kids did wrong, or the dogs, or something. I hate that that’s the way I am, but I’m really going to make an attempt at being better. 

4) Clear away the clutter This one may be the easiest for me, since most of the time I walk through the house picking up while he’s on his way home

5) Gather up school books, toys, paper etc and run a dust cloth over the tables. Since he gets home after the boys go to bed I think this will be easy, when he was getting home during the day it didn’t matter how many toys I picked up, by the time I got finished the toys were back out. 

6) Over the cooler months of the year you should prepare and light a fire for him to unwind by. Your husband will feel he has reached a haven of rest and order and it will give you a lift too. After all catering for his comfort will provide you with immense personal satisfaction. We don’t have a fireplace, but he wants to  come home and shower right away when he gets off work, so I’ll be sure to have a towel wash cloth and the bathroom ready for him to just go straight to the shower. 

7) Prepare the children. Take a few minutes to wash the children’s hands and faces (if they are small), comb their hair and if necessary change their clothes. They are little treasures and he would like to see them play their part. Minimise all noise. Eliminate the sounds of the washer, dryer and vacuum. Encourage the children to be quiet. Since the boys are alseep when he gets home this won’t be too hard. I’ll be sure to have them in their own beds in their room instead of in our bed so he has to put them into bed. 

8) Be happy to see him. Most of the time I AM happy to see him. I’ll work on showing him I’m happy to see him because showing how I feel is one of my lacking qualities. 

9) Greet him with a warm smile and show sincerity in your desire to please him.  I am so guilty at putting our kids first ALL of the time, which I hate doing, because if my relationship falls apart because I put it last they’ll be the ones to suffer the most, so I’m going to really work on putting my relationship with the boys’ father higher up on my importance list than I have been.

10) Listen to him. Let him talk first, his topics of conversation are more important than yours. I always thought this would be the hardest of all of the things on this list to do, but Friday night when he came home I listened to him talk about work for a good 45 minutes, I was just too tired to feel like chatting about my day, and he was really interested in talking about his day and what happened at work. 

11) Make the evening his. Never complain if he comes home late or goes out to dinner or other places of entertainment without you.  I think this is the most bogus of all of the things on this list, if he’s going to be late he needs to call and let me know. simple as that. although he shouldn’t be too late at 1 in the morning. 

12) Don’t greet him with complaints or problems    Not my strong suit. I really need to work on this, I am bad at greeting him with “ohmygosh the kids got into this and did this and fought all day and oh i’m so tired” Not even thinking that he spent the evening at work doing real manual labor. 

13) Don’t complain if he is late home for dinner or even if he stays out all night. Count this as minor compared to what he has gone through that day.  This would probably be more of an issue if he worked days but he’s ready to get home and get to bed when he gets off work. But I know Mr Wally and he wouldn’t just not come home…. I think… :-/ 

14) Make him comfortable have him lean back in a comfortable chair. Have a cool or warm drink ready for him. Arrange his pillow and offer to take off his shoes. Speak in a low soothing pleasant voice. I think having the bathroom ready for him to come straight in and shower would be more fitting for our family, if he worked during the day this would probably make sense, but he’s tired, and dirty when he comes home

15) Don’t ask him questions about his actions or question his judgement or integrity. Remember, he is the master of the house and will always exercise his will with fairness and truthfulness. You have no right to question him. A good wife always knows her place. Everywhere I see this I see this “rule” blasted on the most, but I kind of see where it’s coming from. I WANT my husband to be the man of the house, I hope that he is fair and truthful and God knows I am awful at badgering him if I think he’s at all dishonest or unfair but I need to just let him be the man, and things will only get bad until he realizes that he just wants to do things the right way, right? 

Today will just be a prepping day for this challenge, and hopefully I’ll be ready to start whole heartedly tomorrow. I would have started today but I woke up on the wrong foot. and it just wasn’t in the stars for today to be day one. So tomorrow morning will be day one of the ’50s housewife challenge, and if we are honestly a happier, less chaotic, enjoyable family, it’ll probably stick around 😀 

Leave a Reply

